East African Tourism fraternity sees more light from Seven Natural Wonders of Africa

Serengeti Migration

Shared between Kenya and Tanzania, the Serengeti Migration in the wider plains of the Serengeti in Northern Tanzania has been named the most exciting wonder of nature in Africa.

Mount Kilimanjaro

Selection of Mount Kilimanjaro as a Natural Wonder of Africa had so far pleased several tourist stakeholders in East Africa, taking into account that this snowcapped peak has attracted tourist business stakeholders across East Africa.

Ngorongoro Conservation Area

Ngorongoro Conservation Area, has been a tourist icon in East Africa, pulling tourists across the member countries, and has been selected a Natural Wonder of Africa. Known by most tourists as the “Garden of Eden” and the home of mankind, Ngorongoro, unlike other wildlife parks in East Africa, is the multiple land use area where Maasai pastoralists and wildlife live together like the legendary biblical Garden of Eden. Early this week, the Serengeti National Park, Ngorongoro Conservation Area and Mount Kilimanjaro were declared among Africa’s seven natural wonders.

River Nile

River Nile in Uganda was the fourth natural feature in East Africa that was selected in the list. This longest river in the world has ever since been a tourist attractive site in all of its course from Uganda to Egypt. Ugandan State Minister for Tourism, Wildlife and Antiquities, Agnes Akiror Egunyu, and her delegation received an award certificate from the President of Natural Wonders of Africa, Dr. Phillip Imler. Selection of three wildlife parks in Tanzania to the list of Seven Natural Wonders of Africa would as well, pull more tourists to visit this African destination, said Tourism Confederation of Tanzania chairman Gaudence Temu. “This is proof that Tanzania implements natural resource conservation policies,” said the Tanzania Tourist Board (TTB) Managing Director, Dr. Aloyce Nzuki.   Dr. Nzuki also said that recognizing Tanzania’s natural resources will help to clear confusions that tourists normally get before leaving their home countries.

Three natural wonders of Tanzania

The three natural wonders – the Serengeti, Mt. Kilimanjaro, and the Ngorongoro Crater – were also among several world natural heritage sites of global importance.   Tanzanian Prime Minister Mr. Mizengo Pinda said Tanzania would cooperate with other African countries in promoting tourism which is leading in foreign exchange earnings. In order to allow visitors to maximize their experience while on the continent, tourists, especially special interest visitors, should have easy travels across the states. Other winners in the race of the Seven Natural Wonders in Africa are the Red Sea Reef in Egypt, the Sahara Desert which spans eleven countries in the continent, and the Okavango Delta in Botswana. Seven Natural Wonders is a US-based, non-profit making organization, and has been conducting a campaign since 2008 to determine the seven natural wonders in the African continent and has conducted voting exercise which attracted millions of voters. Source: By Apolinari Tairo, eTN Tanzania | Feb 13, 2013. Image via afircapoint.com